Skip to main content
NSC 2016
20 Jan 2016

National standard costs for specified livestock determination 2016

2016 determination lists the national standard costs for specified livestock.

This determination may be cited as "The National Standard Costs for Specified Livestock Determination 2016".

This determination is made in terms of section EC 23 of the Income Tax Act 2007. It shall apply to any specified livestock on hand at the end of the 2015-2016 income year where the taxpayer has elected to value that livestock under the national standard cost scheme for that income year.

For the purposes of section EC 23 of the Income Tax Act 2007 the national standard costs for specified livestock for the 2015-2016 income year are as set out in the following table.

Kind of Livestock Category of Livestock National Standard Cost $
  Rising 1 year 31.00
  Rising 2 year 21.50
Dairy Cattle
  Purchased bobby calves 158.50
  Rising 1 year 529.10
  Rising 2 year 414.20
Beef Cattle
  Rising 1 year 322.80
  Rising 2 year 181.20
  Rising 3 year male non-breeding cattle (all breeds) 181.20
  Rising 1 year 106.00
  Rising 2 year 52.90
Goats (Meat and Fibre)
  Rising 1 year 25.30
  Rising 2 year 17.30
Goats (Dairy)
  Rising 1 year 174.70
  Rising 2 year 31.40
  Weaners to 10 weeks of age 103.20
  Growing pigs 10 to 17 weeks of age 86.00

This determination is signed by Rob Wells on the 20th day of January 2016.

Rob Wells
LTS Manager, Technical Standards
Legal and Technical Services